Are You Accountable? | Showers’ Blessing Inspires | Jacqui Showers

When I lived with one of my sisters, my mother charged us with looking after each other. She told my sister to take care of me because I was her baby sister; and told me to listen to and look out for my sister because she was my older sister. In essence, she made us accountable to each other. Over the nine years we lived together and well beyond we held each other accountable. Howbeit, my sister would take it way too serious. Often I had to remind her that just because she was a Captain in the army did not mean I was under her command.

Reflecting over those years I appreciate her constant urgings, support and shoving me out of my comfort zone. It caused me to stretch and do things I probably never would have done. Accountability makes you do things you want to do, but sometimes need someone to give you a nudge, if not a shove, to enable you to do it.

All of us make resolutions and set goals. Sometimes we aren’t successful in reaching them. Having someone to be accountable to helps you break through barriers you may or may not be able to do on your own. In our quest to be true to the vows we make, there are times when we need that extra push and that extra support. I know I do!

Having a mentor or coach is important in helping you to stay focused and keep moving forward. Knowing you have to be accountable forces you to do what you know you should be doing. They in turn do whatever is necessary to help you achieve your goals. When you identify that person, make sure they truly hold you accountable, are trustworthy, honest and can provide support that pushes you beyond your place of familiarty. They cannot be apprehensive about telling you when you are messing up and must be able to speak the unadulterated truth, regardless of how painful it may be. Remember they have your best interest at heart. They want you to succeed. So, after you mull over your hurt feelings, settle down and listen. It is for your own good.

You want to lose 30 pounds? You want to exercise? You want to write that book? You want to start that business? Elicit the support of a mentor or coach. When you’re serious about being successful, you will get the necessary help you need. That is what accountability is all about.

What measures are you taking to achieve your goals? Have you secured the help of a mentor or coach? Have you contacted The ME Place Mentor Empowerment Institute? If not, take a moment to find out about The ME Place.  

TMEP-MENTOR-COACH-50

 

Posted on October 7, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

