I Truly Hate Moving! Can I Just Say That! | Showers’ Blessing Inspires | Jacqui Showers

Can I say, “I hate moving!” Did I say, “I hate moving!” Well, I just want to say it again, “I hate moving!”

It is not so much the move as it is the process. By far, moving is one of the most least likely things I look forward to doing. Yet, I found myself moving. It is such a grueling daunting task because it doesn’t just end when you get to the place where you are going, but you have to organize and find a place for all of that stuff. If you are like me, who is clueless about having a successful move, you have a lot of stuff that didn’t need to find its way to the new location.

I did learn some lessons from this move. Although I thought I had everything under control, I quickly grasped in the midst of the move I did not have anything under control. I have a hard time determining that I am not in control when it comes to moving. I should have found some type of moving 101 course to help navigate me through this process. It would have saved a lot of time before, during and definitely after the move.

Nevertheless, I have moved. Would I do it again? I probably will, but I realized that with anything proper planning always produces positive results. Whether you are moving or it’s something else your due diligence in planning will make the difference. These are some of the things I learned that can be employed in any area of your life.

  1. Map out a strategy. If you do not have a strategy in place, you will be just like I was—delusional. You will think that you have everything under control when in actuality you don’t. A clearly delineated strategy will help you through the process and allow you to enjoy your new place hassle-free.
  2. Let it go! Make a conscious decision you are going to let go of things that you know very well you are not using and will not use. You still make excuses about why you need it to justify not getting rid of it. Purge yourself of that stuff. Minimizing must become a priority. If it is something you have not used, or worn, within the last six months or better, get rid of it. Definitely if it has been hanging around for years—give it away or just throw it away. Just let it go!
  3. Ask for help. I will confess that there are times when I have difficulty in asking for help, especially when I think I got this. Actually I don’t! Do this early on. You need the most help as you are preparing to move to make the day of the move seamless. Try to elicit the help of someone who is going to be hard nose and force you to throw away those things you have been holding on to for years. You are too emotionally attached to make the decisions yourself. Twenty years ago you could wear those size 6 jeans, but today your size 14 can’t fit in them. Do the math and quickly give them away.
  4. Streamline the process. When you streamline the process on the front end it makes everything easier on the back end. Clearly label where everything goes. Or you will have to sift through all of that stuff wasting a lot of time you don’t have on the back end of the move. Make sure boxes are clearly marked so you don’t have to spend hours searching through every box. Those moving you will know exactly where everything goes.
  5. Allot the necessary time to pack. Yes we’re all so busy. Scurrying from here to there and working on one project after another, but you have to factor in the hours needed to get everything packed up and ready to go. You can’t do everything in a day, but you can factor in 2-4 hours a day to do something towards your goal. When people kept asking me if I was packed, I would say yes. When they came over they could see I was nowhere near being there. Now I was living in denial and kept saying that it didn’t look as bad as it seemed. On the day of the move, it was extremely worse! Be realistic! If it is not packed up, you still have a lot of packing to do.
  6. Set a deadline. With anything you have to have a definitive goal date when everything needs to be done. With moving it is quite easy—it is the day you move. In actuality it should be a few days before you move so you can truly ascertain the status of where you are. Keeping that target date in focus will ensure that you do everything necessary so when the movers come all you have to do is pick up and go. It doesn’t have to be a 12 hour ordeal. I hope I’m not telling on myself.

What is it that you loathe to do? How can you streamline the process? Have you contacted The ME Place Mentor Empowerment Institute? If not, take a moment to connect with The ME Place.

TMEP-MENTOR-COACH-50

 

Posted on November 4, 2015, in Showers' Blessing Inspirations and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

