Celebrate Our Mother’s Legacy | Showers’ Blessing Inspires

Every May I celebrate life! I celebrate my mother and the legacy of her life. This year would have been my mother’s 100th birthday. Even though she has since left the earth realm almost 20 years ago, I continue to celebrate her life and thank God in His infinite wisdom I was born as her 10th child. Or in the words of my mother, “I am her baby and will always be her baby.” In this week, I celebrate both her life and my life.

A few years ago one of my grand-niece’s mother celebrated my mother’s life in a prayer. She extolled my mother’s life because of her offspring. She never had a chance to meet her, but because of what she instilled in her children this young woman was reaping the benefits of my mother’s legacy.

I remember reading some notes from one of my mother’s notebooks where she had written a plea to the Lord, “Please let my life count.” When I read the plea it brought me to tears. All I could think about was how much her life did count and was continuing to count with each life that our lives touched. Naturally as this young woman prayed and thanked God for my mother’s life, it took me back to that plea. I was overcome with emotion.

Although my mother had been gone from the earth realm for more than a decade she continued to touch and inspire others. Oftentimes we are so consumed with the here and now we lose sight of the fact that one day we are all going to leave this earth. Our entrance from the wombs of our mothers is the first step as we journey towards the distance horizon of the day we leave this earth.

All that we accomplish from the day we were born to the day we leave here should have some impact on someone else’s life. Oftentimes we find ourselves stagnated because we don’t fully comprehend that when we pour into someone else, where they travel and all the lives they touch we impact as well. Wow! Each one does truly reach one.

More than any of my other siblings I have my mother’s physical features and often peer into the mirror and it is as though her reflection is gazing back at me. Each of us has some parts of who she was and this is not just limited to the physical. All of us have the same compassion and love for others as my mother did and extend ourselves to nurture and help others along the way.

So it is with mothers. They instill so much in each of us. Along the way others are blessed by our mother’s, regardless if they are alive or not. Continuing our mothers’ legacy keeps them alive.

Today, celebrate your mother’s life and all that she poured into you. Regardless if your mother is still living or not, you are the most precious of her legacies. Make your mother’s life count by spreading the love and compassion she gave you, not just to your children but to others as well. That is how you keep your mother’s legacy alive. That is how I keep my Mother’s legacy alive.

Happy Mother’s Day

 

prayers-for-success-3-d-mobile promo-7-4

Posted on May 14, 2017, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

