10 Bodies Hanging On The Wall | Showers’ Blessing Inspires

family portrait4

My brother, my sisters and me—the 10 of us.

I was lying in bed this morning when all of sudden it was like this jolt of joy was injected inside me. These days as we are in the throes of the holiday season have been quite melancholy as I reminisce on those who have left this earth. So many memories flood my mind as I recall all of the time spent together doing all those holiday things in preparation of Christmas.

I remember everyday piling into cars and going shopping. We would shop all day long. More than shopping it was just being with family. Needless to say, many of my most ardent shopping companions have all made their transitions. This year I found myself missing those excursions. It really didn’t matter if you had the money to shop or not, it was more important that we were together. We were doing something that we loved to do — together.

It was such mystery with our shopping as we scurried around trying to find that perfect gift for the person whose name you pulled, all the while hoping that no one else would find out. In some instances, if you were the recipient of a sibling’s name who was hard to please, you just had to tell someone so they could help you. These were great exciting memorable times.

Remember that song about the beer bottles hanging on the wall and if one should accidently fall then there would be one less bottle hanging on the wall. I often think about that at one time there were 10 of us hanging out together and now there are six. One thing I’ve come to realize is that we are going to be like those beer bottles hanging on the wall where one day there will be no beer bottles hanging on the wall. One day all 10 of us will no longer exist in this world and we won’t be hanging out together.

Yet we still have a mandate to uphold the traditions and love of family instilled in us from our mother. Yes as time goes by there will be less of us hanging out with each other, but as long as we are still alive we have to make sure that those coming behind us hold on to family and love. We have a mandate to ensure that they understand the traditions of getting together for the holidays and just hanging out with each other.

Yes, sometimes we are going to fight and we are going to get upset with each other. It is all right as long as you don’t stay in that place. I cry out to my nieces and nephews for them to understand the legacy of their grandmother, Rosie Showers, whose simple instructions was for us to “love one another.”

Regardless of the disagreements or agreements we have held on to those words. At every interval when it appeared as though there was an unknown force trying to divide us each of us go back to those words echoed by our mother, “Love one another. Stay together. Look out for one another and take care of one another. Never stop getting together.”

This holiday season grasp those words when it comes to your family or even extended family members. Family is worth fighting for and you must fight for your family. The love of family is priceless. No amount of shopping for that perfect gift can take the place of the love of family. Really that is what this holiday season is all about — the love of family.

God loved us, His family, so much that He gave His only begotten son that we could have the right to an abundant life in this world and spend an eternal blissful life with Him. How priceless can it get?

Accept this gift of empowerment. Contact me for a complimentary coaching session @ The ME Place Institute.

prayers-for-success-3-d-mobile promo-7-4

Scriptures

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. John 3:16 (KJV)

Little children, yet a little while I am with you. Ye shall seek me: and as I said unto the Jews, Whither I go, ye cannot come; so now I say to you. A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another. By this shall all men know that ye are my disciples, if ye have love one to another. John 13:33-35 (KJV)

Let us hold fast the profession of our faith without wavering; (for he is faithful that promised;) And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works: Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching. Heb 10:23-25 (KJV)

Above all, love each other warmly, because love covers many sins. Welcome each other as guests without complaining. Each of you as a good manager must use the gift that God has given you to serve others. 1 Peter 4:8-10 (GW)

My loved ones, let us have love for one another: because love is of God, and everyone who has love is a child of God and has knowledge of God. He who has no love has no knowledge of God, because God is love. And the love of God was made clear to us when he sent his only Son into the world so that we might have life through him. And this is love, not that we had love for God, but that he had love for us, and sent his Son to be an offering for our sins. My loved ones, if God had such love for us, it is right for us to have love for one another. 1 John 4:7-11 (BBE)

Prayer

Father, I am so thankful You gave me a family. I love my family and every day I celebrate each one of them. I cherish the priceless moments we share together. Although some of them have already gone to be with You, I cherish their memory and the love we shared. Each time we come together it is memories of love and family that we passed to those coming behind us. In doing so, we are able to share the ultimate love of family when You gave Your only Son that we could be free of sin and the limitations of this world, have an abundant life in Your Son Jesus and spend eternity with You. Amen.

Posted on December 18, 2013, in Showers' Blessing Inspirations, Showers' Blessing PIcSpires and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. This is a beautiful sentiment …thank you for sharing…..❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Leave a comment